News Flash

Town of Normal News

Posted on: September 20, 2022

Koos Elected to the IML Board of Directors

Photo of the Town of Normal Mayor Chris Koos

Chicago – Sept. 20, 2022 – The Illinois Municipal League (IML) elected officers and members to its Board of Directors at its Annual Business Meeting, Sept. 17, as a part of the 109th IML Annual Conference at the Hilton Chicago. 

 The IML membership unanimously elected River Forest Village President Catherine M. Adduci to serve a one-year term as President. Also elected during the conference were Fairview Heights Mayor Mark T. Kupsky as First Vice President and Hazel Crest Village President Vernard L. Alsberry, Jr. as Second Vice President. 

 In addition to the officers, 34 Vice Presidents were elected to serve a one-year term, and six IML Past Presidents continue to serve, on the statewide organization’s Board of Directors. Town of Normal Mayor Chris Koos was elected to serve as a Vice President. 

 “I look forward to working with mayors from across the state to address the complex issues our communities face,” says Koos. “Together, we can successfully advocate for local government at the state and federal levels and help build stronger communities across Illinois.”

 About Mayor Chris Koos

Chris Koos has served as the Mayor for the Town of Normal since 2003. His current term runs until 2025. He was first elected to the Normal Town Council in April 2001. Koos has the longest running term of any mayor in Normal’s history. In addition to serving as Mayor for the Town, Koos currently serves as a member of the Advisory Board of Transportation for America and as vice chair for Passenger Rail with the US Conference of Mayors. 

 About the Illinois Municipal League

The Illinois Municipal League is the statewide organization representing local communities throughout Illinois. Founded in 1913, IML has worked continuously for the benefit of all 1,295 municipalities in Illinois to provide a formal voice on matters involving common interests. 

Facebook Twitter Email