Bloomington-Normal Asahikawa Sister City


To further international relations and goodwill between the Bloomington-Normal community and Asahikawa, Hokkaido, Japan, pursuant to the People to People program instituted by the United States State Department.


The Bloomington-Normal Asahikawa Sister City Committee consists of 20 members, 10 approved by the mayor and council of each community. If you are interested in serving on the committee, Email Chairperson Darren Sampson for more details.


  • 6:30 pm
  • First Monday of each month
  • Central Illinois Regional Airport, 2nd Floor Conference Room
    3201 CIRA Drive
    Bloomington, IL 61704

Members and Officers

Darren Sampson , Chairperson
Jeff Kroesch, Vice Chair
Ken Ota, Secretary
Dawn McBride, Treasurer
Akiko Wilson
Brenda Guest
Catrina Murphy
Cody Hendricks
Kyle Silver
Noha Shawki
Patrick Clapper
Ryan Apple
Sally Modine
Sanae Ferrier
Steven Campbell